Cities Where Police Will Not Respond to Your Burglar Alarm Without Verification
There are no affiliate links on this page. No alarm company, guard company or monitoring provider paid to appear here or influenced what it says. Read our full disclosure.
Monitoring is sold on one promise: your alarm goes off, a monitoring centre calls the police, the police come. In a number of US jurisdictions the last step does not happen. In Salt Lake City, Milwaukee, Seattle and the Las Vegas metro area, a burglar alarm on its own does not produce a police unit. Somebody has to verify a crime first: a private guard in Salt Lake City and Milwaukee, or audio, video, a panic activation or an eyewitness in Seattle. Several more cities take response away once you have generated enough false alarms, and in Nassau County, New York the threshold is more than two in a calendar year. None of this appears in a sales conversation. Check your own city before you agree to a monitoring price, because in these places the advertised service is not the service you will receive.
This is the question almost no buying guide answers: if my alarm goes off at 2am in my city, does an officer actually get sent? The answer is set by your local police department, not by the company taking your monthly payment, and in a growing number of places the answer is no. Below are twelve US jurisdictions where police response to a burglar alarm is conditional, grouped by how it is conditional, with every policy read from the police department's own page or the city code on September 16, 2026.
We have not tested any of these policies by triggering an alarm. What follows is what each jurisdiction publishes, quoted or closely paraphrased, with the source and the date we read it. Where a detail we had previously recorded no longer appears on a city's page, we say that too rather than repeat it.
Three different ways your alarm can go unanswered
These get lumped together as "verified response", but they are not the same policy and they do not have the same fix.
- 1. Standing verified response. The department does not dispatch to an unverified burglar alarm, ever, at any address. It is not a penalty and you cannot avoid it by behaving well. Salt Lake City, Milwaukee, Seattle and the Las Vegas metro area.
- 2. Verification by telephone before dispatch. Police will come, but only after your monitoring centre has tried to reach you first, usually on two separate numbers. This is normally called enhanced call verification. It delays dispatch and it filters out the accidental trips. San Diego, Denver and Baltimore.
- 3. Response you can lose. Ordinary dispatch, until your address accumulates false alarms or loses its permit, at which point the department stops coming. Nassau County NY, Houston, Mobile AL, Charlotte and Fort Worth.
The first kind changes what you should buy. The second changes how fast help arrives and who has to answer the phone. The third is a bill and a warning that becomes a cut-off. Our separate alarm permit and false-alarm fine index covers the fee schedules for thirty jurisdictions; this page is about the response itself.
The twelve jurisdictions, at a glance (all read 2026-09-16)
| Jurisdiction | Type | What the department publishes | What still gets a police response |
|---|---|---|---|
| Salt Lake City, UT | Standing verified response | City Code 5.08.095(A): except at a wholesale or retail firearms business, an intrusion alarm "shall be dispatched by the police department only after a private guard responder has confirmed that an attempted or actual crime has occurred at the alarm site". In force since December 1, 2000. | Duress, panic and holdup alarms, limited to alarms originating from a stationary building structure |
| Milwaukee, WI | Standing verified response | MPD states it "no longer responds to the report of a burglar alarm activation that is not first verified by a Private First Responder Service", under Public Safety Ordinance 105-75-14-c-5. Implemented September 19, 2004. | Nothing extra: MPD states it does not respond to panic alarms either, because panic alarms are a prohibited system and illegal in the city |
| Seattle, WA | Standing verified response (evidence, not guard) | SPD "responds to calls from alarm companies with evidence of a crime in-progress" and "does not respond to calls from alarm companies based on sensor or motion activations alone". Examples given: audio, video, panic alarms or eyewitness evidence. | All robbery, panic and duress alarms |
| Las Vegas metro (LVMPD) | Standing non-dispatch | LVMPD's dispatch FAQ: "our police department only broadcasts these alarms, and although an available officer in the area might respond by choice, a unit is not dispatched". The monitoring company is expected to send a guard. | Not stated on the page we read; the FAQ addresses burglar alarms specifically |
| San Diego, CA | Phone verification, low priority | "SDPD requires your alarm monitoring company make two phone calls to you, or to your designees', before SDPD will format a call for service." The same document states that "police response to alarm calls is a low priority and response times can vary greatly", and suggests private guard dispatch as a faster alternative. | Panic, duress and holdup activations are exempt from the verification requirement |
| Denver, CO | Phone verification | Enhanced Call Verification is mandatory: the monitoring company "must verify the alarm before dispatching authorities" by "making at least two separate calls to the two phone numbers provided". Denver states 83% of alarm calls in the city are false, and that DPD spent 14,380 hours on false alarms in 2023 at a cost of almost $600,000. | Not specified on the page we read |
| Baltimore, MD | Phone verification | "Baltimore City requires two-call-verification to the alarm user prior to placing a call to the Police Department." Calls must go to a dedicated police line, not 911, and automatic dialers are prohibited. | Not specified on the program page we read |
| Nassau County, NY | Response you can lose | A permit holder "shall be subject to suspension and/or revocation and/or will have their location placed into No Police Response Mode if false alarms to that location exceed two (2) in a calendar year". The department states it is asked to respond to over 125,000 false alarms a year. | Under No Police Response Mode, officers are assigned only where independent information suggests a response is necessary |
| Houston, TX | Response you can lose | "Permits are subject to revocation and no police response after the 7th false burglar alarm" (residential and non-residential alike). Separately: "HOUSTON POLICE MAY NOT BE DISPATCHED TO YOUR LOCATION UNLESS THE ALARM COMPANY PROVIDES A VALID PERMIT NUMBER." | First three false burglar alarms per 12 months are free of charge; panic alarms run on a separate, steeper fine schedule |
| Mobile, AL | Response you can lose | "The alarm officer may suspend alarm response at the site if it is determined that the user has 10 or more false alarms in one year." The first three responses are warnings; the fourth and each after are billed at $50. | Suspension is discretionary ("may"), not automatic |
| Charlotte-Mecklenburg, NC | Permit gate | "The police cannot respond to an alarm at your address unless the alarm company has this number when calling to request police dispatch." The permit number is yours to pass on to your alarm company. | Not stated on the page we read |
| Fort Worth, TX | Permit gate | "Property owners that install a monitored alarm system and wish to have a police response to an alarm activation must have an alarm permit issued by the Development Services Department." | Not stated on the page we read |
The four places where an alarm alone brings nobody
Salt Lake City: the original, and still in the code
Salt Lake City adopted verified response effective December 1, 2000 and it is still there in the current codified ordinance. Section 5.08.095(A) is one sentence and it is unambiguous: apart from firearms businesses, "intrusion alarm response shall be dispatched by the police department only after a private guard responder has confirmed that an attempted or actual crime has occurred at the alarm site."
The department's own summary of the policy, hosted on the police department site, describes what happened: alarm responses fell from 10,542 in 1998 and 9,439 in 2000 to 898 in 2001, an immediate drop the department calls "an unprecedented 90% reduction", and it reports 8,482 officer hours freed and $508,920 saved in the first year. That document's figures run to 2007 and we are quoting it as the department's account of the policy's origin, not as current-year data.
The ordinance keeps police response for duress, panic and holdup alarms, and charges a central station $150 per incident for requesting a response where it cannot give dispatch a valid permit number.
Milwaukee: private first responder, and panic alarms are illegal
Milwaukee implemented verified response on September 19, 2004. The police department's burglar alarm page states that MPD "no longer responds to the report of a burglar alarm activation that is not first verified by a Private First Responder Service", and that alarm businesses are required to provide such a service under Public Safety Ordinance 105-75-14-c-5. A private first responder is a licensed guard company contracted by your alarm company.
The department publishes the before and after: roughly 30,000 burglar alarms a year before the change, 97% of them false, against approximately 800 a year now, 70% false.
Two Milwaukee-specific details matter to a buyer and are easy to miss. First, MPD states that alarm businesses "should not be contacting the homeowner or resident to respond to alarm activations", and advises residents not to go and look until the guard has cleared it. Second, and unusually, Milwaukee does not respond to panic alarms either: its page states that panic alarms are a prohibited system and illegal in the city. If a panic button is the reason you are buying a system, Milwaukee is a place to ask hard questions before signing.
Seattle: evidence, not necessarily a guard
Seattle's policy is the one most likely to be satisfied by equipment you already want. SPD does not require a guard company; it requires evidence of a crime in progress, and it names audio, video, panic alarms and eyewitness accounts as examples. Motion and door sensors on their own are excluded, in the department's words, because they "have proven over time not to be reliable evidence of criminal activity".
The numbers behind it: roughly 13,000 residential and commercial burglary alarm calls reached Seattle's 911 centre in 2023, and fewer than 4% were confirmed to have a crime associated with them that produced an arrest or a report.
Seattle also differs structurally: the city bills the alarm company, not you. SPD states that "the City has a relationship with the Alarm Companies, not the subscribers", and that alarm companies are billed directly for registration and false alarm fees. That does not mean the cost does not reach you, it means it reaches you through your contract rather than through a city invoice, which is worth reading before you sign. A waiver is available once every 84 months for attending an alarm user workshop or switching to private guard dispatch.
Las Vegas metro: broadcast, not dispatch
LVMPD's answer to the question "Why didn't a police unit respond when my burglar alarm was tripped?" is the clearest statement of the practical reality anywhere in this list: "The company monitoring your burglar alarm dispatches a guard to your residence. The companies are aware that our police department only broadcasts these alarms, and although an available officer in the area might respond by choice, a unit is not dispatched. Your alarm company should have advised you of this policy."
Note the last sentence. The department's own position is that your alarm company was supposed to tell you.
What this does to the price of monitoring
This is the part that costs money, and it is the reason this page sits in our monitoring section rather than our resources section.
- Guard response is a separate, recurring charge. In Salt Lake City, Milwaukee and the Las Vegas area, the entity that actually comes to your house is a private guard company contracted by your alarm company. That service is not what the advertised monthly monitoring fee buys. Salt Lake City's own policy summary, written in the years after the change, put typical guard response at about $5 a month on top of a monitoring account. We have not verified current guard pricing in any of these markets and are not presenting that figure as a 2026 price, only as the department's contemporaneous account.
- At least one national provider charges you extra for your zip code. ADT's residential monitoring contract terms, which we read on August 19, 2026 for our permit and fines index, state that in municipalities requiring guard response for alarm verification, "ADT will charge an additional $8 monthly fee". That is $96 a year attached to where you live rather than to anything you bought. We checked this for one company because it publishes its terms openly, and we are not generalising it to the industry.
- Cameras change from a nice-to-have to the mechanism. In Seattle specifically, video or audio is an accepted form of verification. That flips the usual buying logic: the camera is not an add-on to the alarm, it is the thing that makes the alarm capable of producing a police response. Our guides to home security cameras and cameras that record without a subscription cover what that costs.
- The monitoring question itself changes shape. If a professionally monitored contract in your city cannot deliver a police dispatch on a sensor trip, the gap between it and self-monitoring narrows considerably. That does not automatically mean self-monitoring wins, because a monitoring centre still escalates, keeps records, calls your contacts and can be the party that reaches a guard service. But it is a different calculation from the one our professional versus self-monitoring guide describes for a city with ordinary dispatch, and it is worth redoing with your own city's policy in hand. If the conclusion is that you want out of a long contract, no-contract security systems is the next page.
Losing response you currently have
Three of the thresholds below are low enough to reach by accident, which is exactly why they are worth knowing before rather than after.
Nassau County, New York is the strictest we found. More than two false alarms in a calendar year exposes the address to suspension, revocation, or being placed into No Police Response Mode, under which officers are not assigned unless independent information suggests a response is necessary. Section 8-40.8 defines a false alarm as any alarm signal that draws a police response with no evidence of criminal activity to justify it, so a genuine mistake counts. The department states it is asked to respond to over 125,000 false alarms a year.
Houston cuts off at seven. The Burglar Alarm Administration's current fee schedule, revised December 2025, states for both residential and non-residential sites that "permits are subject to revocation and no police response after the 7th false burglar alarm". The first three in a rolling 12 months are free, the 4th and 5th are $50 each, the 6th and 7th are $75 each, and the 8th and each after are $100. A residential burglar alarm permit is $50 a year; an unpermitted residential burglar alarm draws a $116.75 penalty per incident.
Mobile, Alabama gives the alarm officer discretion at ten. The first three responses are warnings, the fourth and each after are billed at $50, and the alarm officer "may suspend alarm response at the site" at ten or more false alarms in a year. The word is "may", so this is a judgement rather than an automatic switch.
Charlotte and Fort Worth gate response on the permit itself. CMPD states plainly that police cannot respond unless your alarm company has your permit number when it requests dispatch. Fort Worth states that owners who want a police response to an alarm activation must hold a permit issued by the Development Services Department. In both cities the failure mode is administrative: you have a working, monitored system and no response, because a number never reached your alarm company.
What still gets a police response nearly everywhere
Verified response is aimed at sensor trips, not at people. Human-activated alarms are treated differently in almost every jurisdiction here.
- Seattle responds to all robbery, panic and duress alarms, stating that they indicate a greater public safety risk.
- Salt Lake City keeps police response for duress, panic and holdup alarms originating from a stationary building structure, and fines the central station $150 where it cannot supply a valid permit number.
- San Diego exempts panic, duress and holdup activations from the two-call verification requirement.
- Milwaukee is the exception. Its police department states it does not respond to panic alarms, which are a prohibited system and illegal in the city.
Calling 911 yourself is not an alarm signal and is not covered by any of these policies. Nothing on this page limits what happens when a person reports a crime.
How to check your own city in ten minutes
Thirty jurisdictions are documented in our permit and false-alarm index and twelve are covered above, which leaves most of the country. The check is quick and the sources are public.
- Search your police department's site for "alarm". The page you want is usually called alarm permits, false alarm program, or alarm ordinance, and it lives under the police department or the city's licensing office. This is the primary source; a security company's page about your city is not.
- Look for three phrases. "Verified response", "will not be dispatched" or "non-response", and "enhanced call verification" or "two calls". Any of them changes what your monitoring contract can deliver.
- Find the cut-off number. Most ordinances state how many false alarms cost you response, not just money. It is often buried below the fine schedule.
- Check whether a permit is a precondition of dispatch. In Houston, Charlotte and Fort Worth it is. Ask your alarm company to confirm, in writing, that it holds your current permit number.
- Then ask the provider one question. "In my city, what happens between my alarm sounding and a police officer arriving, and who pays for each step?" A provider that answers vaguely in a verified-response city has told you something useful.
What we could not confirm
Stated plainly, because the absence matters as much as the list.
- Denver's escalation to "general response". Our permit index, from a July 2026 reading, records that five false alarms in a permit year move a Denver address to "general response" status, meaning a call is broadcast rather than dispatched. That phrase does not appear on Denver's current burglar alarm or stop-false-alarms pages, which we read today and which describe mandatory two-call verification instead. We have left Denver in the phone-verification group here, flagged the discrepancy in our own records, and will re-verify the escalation against the ordinance before repeating it.
- Baltimore's five-alarm no-response threshold. Our earlier reading of Baltimore City Code Article 19 recorded that an address goes to no-response status after five false alarms in a 12-month period. The city's false alarm program page, read today, sets out two-call verification and the registration rules but does not restate that threshold, so we are not presenting it as a current published figure.
- Portland's no-response process. Our index cites City Code 14B.10.090. The Portland Police alarms unit page, read today, covers permits, fines and appeals but does not describe the no-response process, so Portland is not in the table above.
- How many jurisdictions have verified response nationally. We have not found an authoritative current count and are not going to estimate one. Twelve documented jurisdictions is what this page claims.
- Current guard response pricing in any of these markets. We have not verified it and have not quoted a 2026 figure.
Get the monthly price and permit digest
Once a month we send a short digest of what changed: provider and hardware prices we re-verified and any that moved, cities added to our alarm-permit index, and corrections we made to our own guides. One email a month, nothing in between, no promotions. We never sell or share your address, and every email has an unsubscribe link.
Next step: look up your own city in the alarm permit and false-alarm fine index, then take what you find back to professional versus self-monitoring and decide again. If a verified-response policy has changed your mind about paying monthly, home security with no monthly fee and no-contract security systems are the two pages that follow.
About this page
Every policy above was read on the police department's own page, the city's own page, or the codified ordinance, on 2026-09-16, in a browser, and each source is linked below with that access date. Where a jurisdiction publishes a figure we repeat it; where it does not, we say "not stated on the page we read" rather than filling the gap from a security company's blog or another affiliate site. We do not conduct hands-on testing and have not triggered an alarm in any of these jurisdictions. Policies change, sometimes without a press release, so treat the read date as the claim: this is what these departments published on September 16, 2026. This page is general consumer information and is not legal advice. See our methodology and editorial policy, and substantive changes are listed on our corrections page.
Sources
- Salt Lake City, UT Code of Ordinances 5.08.095 "False Alarms" (2026 S-21, current): private guard confirmation required before intrusion alarm dispatch; $150 central station penalty; duress, panic and holdup penalty schedule (accessed 2026-09-16)
- Salt Lake City Police Department, "Verified Response: The False Alarm Solution": effective date December 1, 2000, alarm response volumes 1998 to 2007, 90% reduction, 8,482 officer hours and $508,920 saved in the first year, and the contemporaneous "$5 per month" guard response figure (accessed 2026-09-16)
- Milwaukee Police Department, Burglar Alarm Policy: verified response since September 19, 2004, Public Safety Ordinance 105-75-14-c-5, private first responder requirement, 30,000 alarms a year at 97% false before the change against about 800 at 70% false now, panic alarms prohibited and illegal, more than two false alarms a year subject to citation (accessed 2026-09-16)
- Seattle Police Department, Monitored Alarms: response only with evidence of an in-progress crime, no response to sensor or motion activations alone, all robbery, panic and duress alarms answered, approximately 13,000 alarm calls in 2023 with under 4% confirmed, city bills alarm companies rather than subscribers, waiver once every 84 months (accessed 2026-09-16)
- Las Vegas Metropolitan Police Department, Communications Bureau FAQ, "Why didn't a police unit respond when my burglar alarm was tripped?": alarms are broadcast, a unit is not dispatched, monitoring company sends a guard (accessed 2026-09-16)
- City of San Diego Police False Alarm Program FAQ (revised 09/10/2025): two phone calls required before SDPD formats a call for service, panic/duress/holdup exempt, alarm response is a low priority, $31 annual permit, $100 to $500 false alarm schedule, permit revoked at the sixth false alarm (accessed 2026-09-16)
- City and County of Denver, Stop false alarms: Enhanced Call Verification mandatory with at least two separate calls to two numbers, 83% of Denver alarm calls false, 14,380 DPD hours on false alarms in 2023 at almost $600,000 (accessed 2026-09-16)
- Baltimore City DHCD, False Alarm Reduction Program: two-call verification required before calling police, dedicated police line rather than 911, automatic dialers prohibited, monitor and contractor registration requirements (accessed 2026-09-16)
- Nassau County Police Department, Alarm Permit Section: Section 8-40.8 false alarm definition, suspension, revocation or No Police Response Mode where false alarms exceed two in a calendar year, over 125,000 false alarms requested a year, $100 residential and $200 business permit fees (accessed 2026-09-16)
- City of Houston Burglar Alarm Administration, alarm permit application and 2026 fee schedule (revised December 2025): no police response after the 7th false burglar alarm, dispatch conditional on a valid permit number, $50 residential permit, false alarm and non-permitted penalty schedules (accessed 2026-09-16)
- Mobile Police Department, False Alarm Fines: Ordinance 39-62, false alarm presumed where an officer finds no evidence of criminal activity, three warnings then $50 per response, alarm officer may suspend response at ten or more false alarms in a year (accessed 2026-09-16)
- Charlotte-Mecklenburg Police Department, False Alarm Reduction: police cannot respond unless the alarm company supplies the permit number when requesting dispatch (accessed 2026-09-16)
- City of Fort Worth, Commercial and Residential Security System Alarm Permits: a permit issued by Development Services is required for a police response to an alarm activation (accessed 2026-09-16)
- Portland Police Bureau, Alarms Unit: false alarm definition, permit requirement under City Code Chapter 14B.10, appeals via the Hearings Office (checked for a published no-response process, which was not present) (accessed 2026-09-16)